RSS Feed

Heeeere’s your sign

My brother’s kitchen is going to rock.  I made him two more beer signs.  These ones are painted, but I’m only blogging about one of them.  The other one?  It sucks.  It was looking good, but I just kept playing with it…whoops.  I just started a new one to replace that one, so I’ll finish that story later.

So, originally when I decided that I wanted to make something for Cody’s kitchen I searched the internet high and low for ideas.  I didn’t really know what I wanted to do (or what my superbly picky brother would like).  I found subway art and fell in love.  I eventually decided to make it out of beer words (and later made one with beer brands), but was waltzing around the idea of quotes about beer/alcohol.  I had emailed a bunch of quotes that I found (Yay Google!) to my family to look over.  Cody decided that he was pretty stoked about two of them.  So I went ahead and made them into signs!

Our workshop is full of a bunch of scrap wood, and I thought this would be a great way to get rid of it upcycle it!  I headed off to Hobby Lobby where I bought light gray and off white paint (And some crackle paint which I will complain about in a future post.) and some nice brushes.  I spent less than $15 and will be able to use this stuff again and again!  I found a nice sized piece of wood and painted it black with some paint we already had lying around.  Yay free!  Once the paint dried I just went ahead and painted on the quote freehand.  I was positive that I needed a stencil, but I couldn’t find anything that I liked.  I just sucked it up and gave it a try.  I think it turned out pretty darned great!

At first I liked it, but it was still a little plain.  I took a bit of the light gray and added some color around the edge.  Then I sanded up some distressing action along the sides and rounded the corners.  Then I added a bit of gray into some of the lettering…and Voila!!  Honestly, I can’t really give you a step by step tutorial because I hardcore winged it… but I wanted to blog about it anyways. 😉

 

TT small    The Stuff of Success Tip Junkie handmade projects

 

The Stuff of Success

I’m linked up at It’s A Keeper, too!

About betweenarockandahobby

Hello, my name is Erica. I am a 27 year old wife to Dan, and furbaby mom to Kyra. I have a degree in Radio/TV/Film and an unhealthy obsession with taking pictures. I am currently a system administrator searching for creative outlets.

10 responses »

  1. Love Love Love it! Look at YOU getting all super crafty! 🙂 Very good idea. Hope your brother-bear loves it.

    Reply
  2. Funny! 🙂 What a good sister you are to indulge his beer love!

    Reply
  3. HAHA Your sign is awesome! I’m sure your brother thinks the same.

    Reply
  4. That is hysterical! I love your quote. You did a super job, especially free handing those letters! I think your brother is going to love it!

    Reply
  5. Great sign, I’m just starting to make signs. You seem to be a pro! Thanks for stopping by my blog and letting me know you liked my buffet redo.

    Reply
  6. I pinned that on Pinterest from your site & it’s gotten RAVE reviews, lol! So funny

    Reply

Leave a little love!

