RSS Feed

C is for cookie…

That’s good enough for me!  In fact, these were fabulous!

Two Words of Warning:
1. Make these near a sink.  I’m sure you know this, but ice cream melts.  I rinsed my hands off approximately 947 times.  (Have I ever told you that I just might exaggerate slightly?)
2.  Hide your pets.  The recipe involves mini chocolate chips and if you’re anything like me they will be all over your kitchen floor.  Kyra pounced on them like a jungle cat.  Seriously, there was no way I could stop her.

Last week I bought a gallon of ice cream as an addition to the strawberry sauce I was taking to my sister’s birthday party.  There were 6 of us and somehow my brain computed that a gallon of ice cream was necessary for that crowd.  Obviously I had a boat load of leftovers.  Hubby doesn’t love ice cream (I’m convinced he’s some sort of mutant.), but I could eat it every single day.  Probably every hour of every single day…  The devil must have invented ice cream, don’t you think?  I mean, can you think of anything more tempting than a darn-near full gallon of ice cream staring back at you?  Yeah, me either.  I had to get it out of my house.  The opportunity presented itself in the form of a work lunch potluck.  “I call dessert!”  Time for Mini Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Sandwiches from Delish!

Ice Cream not included due to melt factor

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, spooned and leveled
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup sour cream
1 large egg
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
Leftovers from buying far too much vanilla ice cream (The recipe says 1 pint…I have no idea how much I actually used)


Directions:
1.  Preheat oven to 350° F.
2.  Whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl.  Truth be told, I have no idea why this is necessary…I just listened.
3.  Read the directions wrong and add the granulated sugar to this bowl as well.  Yell out “Oh, crap!” and try to scoop out as much white sugar out from the white flour mixture as you can.  Fail miserably and move on.
4.  Re-read the directions (correctly this time) and add both sugars and the butter to a separate bowl.  Beat together.  Add sour cream, egg, and vanilla and beat until smooth.
5.  Turn the mixer on low and gradually add in the flour mixture.  Mix in 3/4 cup mini chocolate chips. (The original recipe calls for 1 cup into the dough.  I usually reduce the amount of chocolate in cookies because I find it to overpowering otherwise.)
6.  Drop chunks of dough (about 1 TBSP) onto a cookie sheet and bake until golden. (About 10-12 minutes)  Move cookies to a cooling rack and cool completely.
7.  Here’s where I stopped listening again.  The recipe calls for softened ice cream…lies, I tell ya!  First of all I’m far too impatient for that, and second if you START with soft ice cream you will have a ginormous soupy mess by the time you get all the sandwiches made.  I used the ice cream right out of the freezer.  I used two large spoons (Are they called tablespoons?  That feels weird…) to form a flat looking ball on top of one cookie.  Then I just smooshed another cookie on top of it and rolled them/pressed mini chocolate chips into the exposed ice cream.  Place on a wax-lined cookie sheet and freeze for 2 hours.

The not-so-mini ice cream sandwiches

Verdict:
Everyone at work loved them, but I still had leftovers (I work in a small building) so I took them over to my in-laws during their pool party.  They disappeared in seconds and I got rave reviews.  Really, they aren’t very difficult to make and these cookies are A.MAZ.ING!  I’m storing this recipe away and will definitely make these cookies minus the ice cream as well.  They were so soft!  This is a 5 star recipe for sure!

I’m linked up over at Simply Sweet Home.  Check me out and say hi to some other loverly bloggers! 🙂

  It's a Keeper

About betweenarockandahobby

Hello, my name is Erica. I am a 27 year old wife to Dan, and furbaby mom to Kyra. I have a degree in Radio/TV/Film and an unhealthy obsession with taking pictures. I am currently a system administrator searching for creative outlets.

7 responses »

  1. Kendra and I made these several times (not sure if it’s the exact cookie recipe tho – but ya know what I mean). Did ya do ONE cookie at a time by any chance?? That WOULD make a huge sloppy mess…and, yes I am laughing!! We actually turned half of the cookies upside down (the bottom of the sandwich), used softened ice cream and then quickly scooped many “scoops” of ice cream….smushed the tops on and rolled in whatever (we used mini chips, pecans, peanuts, sprinkles, mini m&m’s etc.) the we froze on cookie sheet and removed and then wrapped each in a piece of saran wrap for individual serviings. Very yummy indeed!! BTW…..I love, love, love ur blog (and u)!!

    Reply
  2. Mmmmm, these look delish! Doesn’t really help the hips though!!

    Coley at
    http://www.whatyoumakeit-coley.blogspot.com

    Reply
  3. thanks, I think I just drooled on my keyboard

    Reply
  4. Yummy, my kids would love those!

    P.S. Thanks for stopping by my blog, glad you liked my oreo cake! 🙂

    Reply
  5. mmm yummy! they look so good!

    Reply

Leave a little love!

