RSS Feed

I love…lamp?

Awhile ago the hubby and I re-did our bedroom and brought it more into this decade century.  One wall had some seriously sexy wallpaper on it – yellow and flowery.  Yeah, it was some hot stuff!  We removed the wallpaper and the hideous built-in corner vanity and we had a clean slate to work with.
Our “finished” product!

Notice the extreme lack of maroon?  That, ladies and gentlemen, is how this post was born.  On top of my dresser there is a little lamp with a maroon shade… it needed a makeover.  The problem with a maroon shade is how very dark it is.  I knew that no matter what I would do, I would only make the shade even darker.  That shade had to go…  So, that darling hubby of mine bought me a shade to beautify!

Old lamp and new shade!

I searched for days to find some inspiration on just what I could do to make this lamp our own.  So many options out there were far too frilly and girly for the direction I wanted to go.  Finally, I stumbled upon this.  It was an inspiration AND directions on what to do.  You could say that I was sufficiently stoked!  Truth be told, I didn’t read that blog.  I saw the pictures and that was as far as I went.  But thanks to Shabby Chic for a nice quick inspiration! 🙂

The next step was picking out words to put on the lamp shade.  I wanted to make it personal so I chose to use lyrics from our wedding song, “When You Say Nothing At All”.  There’s a perfect section of the song that states “you can light up the dark”.  How perfect, huh!?  I used that whole verse on our lamp.  I wanted the lamp to have a vintagey feel, and plain english words just didn’t feel right to me.  I plugged the verse into www.freetranslator.com and translated it into Italian.  I’m half Italian so this made me downright giddy!  I knew that I wanted something more than just words on the shade, so hubby and I agreed on vintage postage stamps.  I just did a google search and printed off the images.  I did the same with the lyrics.  I chose 4 different fonts (one for each line of the verse) and made them around the same size.  I taped the lyrics and postage to the inside on the shade and turned on the light.  It was actually fairly easy to see through the shade.  From there I just started painting away!

Word of warning: Don’t buy a textured shade.  It was pretty difficult to paint.  I actually did more blotting than painting.  I kept changing my mind through the painting process.  I liked it, then I hated it, then I was super worried… You know, the norm.  Once the painting was finished, I realized it was a bit too plain.  I liked it, but it needed something more.  I took a tiny bit of paint and went around the top and bottom of the shade to give it some texture and then used my finger and smudged it a bit.  It still needed something more.  I had a can of webbing spray paint that I used on a different project and i just sprayed a little bit of that on, smudged it around, sanded it up with a little sandpaper and…Voila!

ucreatecraftwithme

Tip Junkie handmade projects

 I hooked up with House of Hepworth’s and It’s a Keeper, too!

About betweenarockandahobby

Hello, my name is Erica. I am a 27 year old wife to Dan, and furbaby mom to Kyra. I have a degree in Radio/TV/Film and an unhealthy obsession with taking pictures. I am currently a system administrator searching for creative outlets.

3 responses »

  1. super cute love the web spray part 🙂

    Reply
  2. I think your lamp looks great! I’ve never done a web spray paint before, but might have to try it now! I love the meaning behind the words too! Thanks for stopping by! Alison

    Reply
  3. LOVE it! I think that the webbing really added to it.

    Reply

Leave a little love!

