RSS Feed

Happy 4th!

Hello Blog World!  I hope you all had a fabulous day off of work…er…Independance Day.  I used this patriotic holiday as an excuse to make some adorable desserts – Red, White, and Blue sugar cookies and cupcakes!

I divided each of the batters into 3 sections.  I kept one white and used Wilton dye  to turn the other sections red and blue.  The colors didn’t quite have the oomph I was hoping for, but they worked!  For the cookies I took a little batter from each color and formed them into a ball.  I placed the ball on the cookie sheet and then smooshed it with the sugared bottom of a glass.  I’m not including the actual sugar cookie recipe because I didn’t really love it.  I would assume you could follow the above steps for any recipe you’d choose. 🙂

The cupcakes turned into a complete guessing game and I ended up overfilling the pans a little bit.  It wasn’t a big deal, but we had some rather large cupcakes. 😉  I decided to put the filling into the liners as blue, red, and then white.  I baked them (yep…cake mix), frosted them (with canned frosting…sometimes I’m just too lazy for the extra steps), and topped them with red and blue sprinkles.  Yay Festive!  Coordinating with the holiday or event makes me all warm and fuzzy inside!

 

About betweenarockandahobby

Hello, my name is Erica. I am a 27 year old wife to Dan, and furbaby mom to Kyra. I have a degree in Radio/TV/Film and an unhealthy obsession with taking pictures. I am currently a system administrator searching for creative outlets.

4 responses »

  1. So I know you explained it, but I have no idea how you did those cupcakes. You will have to tell me tonight. Weird coincidence. The song “tonight” is playing in the background.

    Reply
  2. Oh. My. How I adore sugar cookies… they’re definitely one of the foods I miss most, since moving back to Australia from America!

    Do you know of any good sugar cookie recipes?

    Reply

Leave a little love!

