RSS Feed

Smells like roses…

Roses and Daisies, that is!  Do you remember my first post?  I blogged about my first foray into cake decorating.  I started “simple” with drop flowers and leaves and I was surprised at how well it went.  I should have learned something from that experience, but in true Erica form I did not.  I was quite certain that making Royal Icing Daisies would be a walk in the park and learning to make roses would be the death of me – I.was.wrong.

I did some research (Youtube rocks, by the way!), and started this adventure with the daisies… since they looked simple.  Daisies did NOT start off well.  I eventually realized that my Royal Frosting wasn’t stiff enough, so I put it back in the bowl and beat it so more.  (That helped tons once I reached the roses.   PS – When the directions say to beat for 8 – 10 minutes…beat for 8 – 10 minutes.)  My main issue, though, was that I couldn’t figure out the spacing of the petals.  They kept turning out lopsided and awful looking.  I took a break from the daisies, made some roses, re-watched the youtube daisy video and tried again. 
Use a rose tip (I started out with #104 but switched to #102 later on.) with the larger end towards the top and directly above the wax paper.  The trick with the spacing is to first make four petals in the shape of a cross and then go back and put one petal in each corner.  Then you can fill the center in with a round tip and a different color.  Voila!

 

Roses look incredibly difficult, don’t they?  I’m hear to tell you that not only can Youtube teach you anything, but also…roses aren’t that hard to make!  Mine don’t look nearly as pretty as the ones the professionals make, but you can still tell they’re supposed to be roses…or at least some sort of flower or naturey-thing.  Once again, you use a rose tip (uh…duh, right?).  I used #104.  You start with a flower nail and a piece of wax paper affixed to it with a dab of frosting.  You’ll squeeze a mound of frosting in the middle and pipe petals around that.  Go ahead and click on that link because I will never be able to explain it as well as she does.

 

 

 

About betweenarockandahobby

Hello, my name is Erica. I am a 27 year old wife to Dan, and furbaby mom to Kyra. I have a degree in Radio/TV/Film and an unhealthy obsession with taking pictures. I am currently a system administrator searching for creative outlets.

Leave a little love!

