RSS Feed

Icing on the Cake

Confession:  The title of my blog post is incredibly corny.  You see, this post is entirely about icing…and the cake it is on.  Literally. 

Since I (obviously) “mastered” creating leaves and flowers with Royal Icing, I felt the next logical step was actually decorating a cake.  Gotta start sometime, eh?  All I needed was an event to bring the cake to.  There is no freaking way I could have an ENTIRE cake just sitting around my house.  I would blimp out in mere milliseconds…  One of my good friends recently accepted a job offer that meant he would be moving to another state.  Going-away-party cake?  Yes.please. 

There were two things I wanted to try out for this (my very first) attempt at cake decorating:  homemade frosting and fondant.

Homemade Frosting
In case you didn’t know, homemade frosting is utterly delicious.  Whoa…Nelly.  Though, I don’t even want to guess how many calories this frosting has.  For the sake of our sanity I am going to forgo figuring it out.  Making this frosting is actually pretty easy.  Add all ingredients together and mix.  That’s it. 
Ingredients:
1/2 c clear crisco
1/2 c butter
1 tsp vanilla
4 c powdered sugar
2 tbsp milk

Fondant
I don’t know about you, but fondant scared the undies right off me.  The things professionals do with fondant is so amazing!  I needed something simple, just to get my feet wet.  Polka dots.  I purchased some Wilton Fondant to minimize the scariness of fondant.  It seemed smart to start with a fondant that someone else made so I know what it is supposed to be like.  I also have a fondant roller and some fondant cutters.  This was another one of those things that baffled me.  It was so simple!  I opened the package of fondant, put a little powdered sugar down, and rolled out the fondant like playdough.  Seriously, that’s it.  After that I just took the circle fondant cutters and cut them out like cookies.  I would change one thing I did, though.  I had rolled out the fondant to about 1/4 inch thick, but I would actually go much thinner than that.

The Cake
I cheated on the cake and totally used a box mix.  I made two 9 inch round cakes and stacked them with a layer of frosting between them.  Spreading the frosting on the cakes isn’t very easy.  I have to read up on it a little bit, but I definitley managed.  After frosting the cake I used a decorating comb around the outside and then stuck the fondant circles on it.  Then I was able to write on my message and complete the outside with a star tip.  Piece.of.cake.  Oh come on…I had to. 😉

About betweenarockandahobby

Hello, my name is Erica. I am a 27 year old wife to Dan, and furbaby mom to Kyra. I have a degree in Radio/TV/Film and an unhealthy obsession with taking pictures. I am currently a system administrator searching for creative outlets.

Leave a little love!

